Okay, I’m Gonna Do This Blog Thing.

I am a stalker lurker. I have been for over 5 years. I read tons and tons math blogs. I keep thinking I should blog, but what would I talk about? I’m not creative or innovative or anything like the rest of the MTBoS group. I am not worthy!

(how do I add a meme from Wayne’s World here?) (Got it!)

I'm not worthy

Our district is going towards a Math Workshop Model, which is really about the students collaborating, thinking, writing, having productive struggle and way less teacher talk. Just what MTBoS has been talking about for years. So, that’s what I’m going to reflect about.

Katrina Newell,  at Mrs. Newell’s Math, talked about her class sizes. Hmmm.  I could do that.

I teach 7th pre-ap, 8th on level, and pre-ap algebra 1 in the Texas panhandle. We have about 650 students (at least we did last year). 94% free and reduced lunch, and 30% English language learners. Student demographics are almost 55% are Hispanic, 24% Asian, and about 12% each African American and white.  So far, (and they are still working on scheduling) I have 140 students. About 45 more than the other math teachers — but I’m not complaining I have better classroom management with larger classes.  I really do not like classes less than 20, but I’ve had a high of 42 in a class. It looks like my largest class this year is 37. I like groups of 4, so I need 1 student to be added to this class or moved to the other class — hopefully moved to the other class because my classroom is on the small size and that will reduce the number of desks I have crowding the room. (Dang! I hope it doesn’t sound like I’m complaining, I’m not…. I just would like there to be room to walk between groups.)  Anyway, approximately 14% are English language learners, 2% with IEPs, 20% gifted and talented.  Working above grade level in 7th pre-ap are 9% of my students and 48% of them are in algebra.  Thirteen percent are in an 8th grade math class, but half of the did not pass the state mandated test (which in Texas they have to pass the 8th grade test to move on to high school). So I have gaps to fill in all the classes (except for the algebra students, I had them last year a 7th graders– but there may be a gap or two I didn’t catch).

What do I need?  I need to feel more comfortable with (in no particular order) number talks/number strings, blogging, and how to do a book study in addition to the math I have to teach.  Oops, can’t forget I also need coffee and dark chocolate.

I’m signing up for MTBoS Blaugust.  You can join here and find  a list of participants here.

Blaugust

 

10 thoughts on “Okay, I’m Gonna Do This Blog Thing.

    • Beth, I have been stalking your blog for a L O N G time. Thank you for your kind words abd thank your for freely sharing your ideas I read them to see where my algebra kiddos are going to provide an extra challenge!

      Like

  1. Thanks for joining in on the MTBoSBlaugust challenge! Are you doing a book study at your school or are you interested in joining one online? Any idea which book? (There’s a great Number Talks book, since that’s another thing you mentioned) 🙂

    Like

    • druinok, I think you were the second person I started following right after Dan Meyer. I am a voracious reader and usually have a couple (3 or 4) books going at a time! We do some book studies at school, but sometimes, I feel like we’re behind the pack because it’s a book that MTBoS people have already read (don’t tell my department, but sometimes, that’s how the books are choosen for the book study we do — ah the advantages of being department head) Which book studies are going or about to start? I would love to join a book study online! Thank you for replying to my first blog post!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Right now, there’s a study on Make It Stick, they are chatting Ch 3 on Monday. I hope to do one this fall on Mathematical Mindsets as well. What books would you like to read?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve read Make it Stick, I’m almost finished with Mathematical Mindsets (I’ll join that one). I’m also reading or just finished reading Making Math Visible, Comprehending Problem Solving, Building Mathematical Comprehension, Teaching Numeracy and Connecting Mathematical Ideas. Where is the study on Make It Stick?

        Like

Leave a Reply

