Back To School Shopping

What have I gotten for my classroom?  Nothing. Nada. Zilch. We have a new principal at our school and the crazy woman (said with the utmost love) changed  90% of the teachers in the school to different rooms. So, instead of doing back to school shopping, I’ve been boxing up, moving and unpacking my classroom.  AND, during our PD days I’ll be presenting a session to math teachers about making textbook word problems less sucky a la’ Dan Meyer ,  Open MiddleEstimation 180,  Visual Patterns and Which One Doesn’t Belong. Anything to get students thinking and talking more and teachers talking less is a win-win in my book!

So I still need to get:

  • Shoeboxes. My desks are arranged in groups of 4 (how else can I pack 37 – 40 students in a small room?). Each shoebox has a set of 4 calculators, highlighters, scissors, glue sticks, protractors (mostly for the straight edge, I didn’t want 12 inch helicopter blade going) and colored pencils.
  • A set of highlighters for me – cause I like clean and new ones.
  • A set of pens – don’t know which ones I’ll use for notes (pen shows up better on the doc camera – I’m thinking erasable pens but there aren’t that many colors.
  • Pencil lead
  • Bulletin board paper or something to back the bulletin boards  and border (I’m thinking plastic table cloths cause I don’t have time to go shopping for material).
  • A set of mason jars. I’ve read about layering in your salad fixins on Sunday and the salad will still be fresh on Friday. I don’t know if that is really true but I’ll see. Making lunch for a week on one day verses making lunch everyday – once a week definitely wins.

Am I going to be ready for students? One way or another I will be.

Before I go, I’d like to welcome Corina Srygley, my friend. Corina used to teach at my school and is a great mentor, how do I get my TI calculator to do question answerer, sounding board and innovative teacher. Check our her blog at https://srygsjigs.com/2016/08/06/summer-ramblings/  and give her a warm encouraging welcome to MTBoS!

 

2 thoughts on “Back To School Shopping

Leave a Reply

