Reflection on Modifying Problems for Workshop – a PD Session

I presented my part of the district’s PD sessions for secondary math teachers today. It went pretty good – at least people had smiles on their faces and no one walked out (maybe they were being polite).

Aug 101.PNG

(Hmm my principal snapped this while I wasn’t paying attention to her in the room because I was too engaged with my participants.)

The Plan

My session was about how to take textbook problems and make it less sucky interesting for the students to engage with. I set the session up with a Workshop Model Lesson Plan so of course we had to have an IWBAT.

IWBAT MPF

Referenced Dan Meyer’s talk at the 2016 NCTM Annual Meeting (here),  starting the video around 38 minutes until 43 or so minutes.  Three problems to choose from to practice taking away information to increase noticing and wondering. Then referencing Faun Nguyen’s Reversing the Question (here). A little practice.

#talklessam

I had the participants answer the question and come up with some of their own.

Then added we could combine them all and add in a writing component (not for an opening, but definitely as part of classwork/homework or close).

Gave everyone some ideas on who/what to Google for more ideas. LOTS of information in a short 50 minute presentation.

The Reality

The laptop was missing quick time, couldn’t get a borrowed I-pad to connect and there were no speakers (lesson learned/rookie mistake: bring my own stuff). So no video (which I thought was the most powerful aspect for them to hear), so I had to talk about it instead. So, monitored and adjusted discussed and tried the strategies on the PowerPoint and THEN did the practice with the problems.  Some sessions, people jumped right in and did an great job (choose from 6 problems) and had a good discussion. Some sessions needed more scaffolding. So we took the first problem and discussed all the ways we could modify each part of the problem. Again, in one session we only got to the table of Elevations of Atmosphere Layers and Ocean Zones — just like in classes – some groups get farther than others – but it’s all good. Lots of ah-ha moments = a good thing.  I think, judging from participants they really liked the Which One Doesn’t Belong aspect the best.

Lesson learned:  I’ll cut back to 3 sessions (the fourth one wasn’t a good as the first 3).

I attended 2 other sessions on Backwards Planning by friends at Bowie and Mann Middle Schools and a session with my friend Cornia (here) on growth mindset and we looked at a pattern of numbers and found some I hadn’t noticed before.

We have another day with secondary math teachers today (Thursday) to work on common lessons and tests by unit. My group will be working on surface area and volume unit – I’ve got some great resources for us to check out.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

